Social Media Revolution

Posted: August 28, 2009 in cool, social media
Tags: , , ,

i’ve had several people ask me why i use twitter. why is it that i post where i’m at, what i’m doing, and most importantly, why do i think people care what i’m doing?

first off, i don’t assume ANYONE reads my tweets. if you follow me and you do read them, cool. i don’t twitter so that people think i’m always doing things that they need to hear about. from the beginning, i used twitter as an online journal of sorts. i didn’t have a blog, so this seemed like a cool way to see what my friends (and shaq) were up to while also being able to look back and laugh about what happened 3 weeks ago on a road trip with my buddies.

i also found an instant connection to the community of the church. from praises to prayer requests, i was becoming ‘friends’ with church folk across the country. i also scored tickets to preds games, sold titans tickets and just recently while tara was in texas, she met a twitter friend of mine who is a worship pastor.

the video below is about the revolution of social media. give it a peek – the stats are amazing.

so, are you using twitter or facebook? why or why not?

Comments
  1. Tara says:

    How crazy is it that I met @chuckazooloo? That really made me think differently about this whole twitter thing. What an amazing way for the church to unite. Lovin’ your blog!

  2. Jason says:

    I use Twitter to harass my friends.

    And to smack talk.

    And to do my work.

    Booyah.

  3. Matt says:

    I’m not gonna lie, at first I thought Twitter was just a big ol joke (if you couldn’t tell by my twitter name), but now I find myself checking it almost 5 times a day.

    And it’s not so much about following celebs, although Shaq and John Mayer are pretty amazing tweeters, but I really do enjoying seeing what my friends, like @toddstepp, are up to and it’s been a great place to both post prayer requests or to pray for others.

    Although some say Twitter is on the way out and will probably not be here in a year. I have high hopes it won’t go anywhere.

Leave a Reply

