Get Out Of Your Comfort Zone

Posted: December 23, 2009 in jesus, life

My man Carlos was out and about in Atlanta shooting a video for his upcoming EP when a homeless man came up and starting singing with him. As you’ll see in the video below, the guy is actually pretty good! What’s really amazing though is how Carlos handles the situation. He keeps singing, invites the guy to join in and really worships with this guy. It may not have been comfortable, but Carlos was being the church to this man.

Again, I’m at a loss for words after watching this for 14th time.

How many times have we crossed the street when we see someone homeless coming our way? We (ok, I) take the long way sometimes to avoid being uncomfortable. What we should do is embrace the person – like Jesus would have done. Scripture mentions several dozen times to embrace the poor…but it’s easier for me to skip that part and just pray for them or donate money to a homeless shelter.

This video was a kick in the pants for me. I sat at my desk, tears streaming down my face, thinking, “why have I been steering clear of the situations Jesus puts in front of me?” If I’m really living for Him, isn’t my job to serve the poor?

At the end of the video, Carlos says, “Keep trying to make it.” The response the guy gives is perfect – “Trying to make it? Nah. I’m making it.”

When’s the last time you stepped out of your comfort zone?

Leave a Reply

