The BYU Controversy

Posted: March 3, 2011 in life, sports
Tags: , , ,

 Brigham Young University

The BYU men’s basketball team is making some noise this season – they’re currently #3 overall and have one of the best players in the nation, Jimmer Fredette. This week though, the headlines aren’t related to their talent.

Forward Brandon Davies has been suspended for the remainder of the season for breaking BYU’s Honor Code. Davies admitted to having sex with his girlfriend, which breaks The Honor Code and a promise he made to his school.

I think Davies’ suspension speaks to the loyalty of the university – they stand by their rules. You won’t find any gray areas here. This isn’t like Ohio State when their student-athletes sold personal belongings (a CLEAR violation of NCAA rules) and still let the rule-breaking players compete in a bowl game. 

BYU doesn’t have scandal in their athletic department. They don’t Cam Newtons, they have Jimmer Fredettes and Steve Youngs. They don’t waste their time recruiting athletes, they recruit citizens who obey their rules – however crazy you may think they are (including keeping your sideburns trimmed above your earlobe and absolutely no flip flops on campus). I think that says something about their institution.

The BYU Honor Code:

  • Be honest
  • Live a chaste and virtuous life
  • Obey the law and all campus policies
  • Use clean language
  • Respect others
  • Abstain from alcoholic beverages, tobacco, tea, coffee, and substance abuse
  • Participate regularly in church services
  • Observe the Dress and Grooming Standards
  • Encourage others in their commitment to comply with the Honor Code

You’re probably thinking, “What a bunch of crazies! No coffee?! No tea?!” and I don’t necesarily disagree with you. I love my coffee and my sweet tea. I enjoy having a drink with my friends. Want to know the difference?

I didn’t sign up to attend BYU. I didn’t agree to their rules.

For the people complaining about BYU’s strict enforcement of rules: DON’T GO TO SCHOOL THERE. Seems pretty simple, right? If my employer had told me during my first interview that I would be required to dress like a clown every single day I came into the office, could I be mad at them for their crazy tactics? NO. But I could certainly decline their offer and go work someplace else.

Now, I don’t personally agree with everything BYU teaches, but I’m extremely impressed that they aren’t spending time blurring the lines. An athlete broke a rule and he’s being punished for that. The craziest part is that people are defending Davies right to have sex whenever and wherever he wants. Nevermind that he promised to avoid such things. Nevermind that he broke a rule that he obviously knew about.

I guess to the people complaining, giving your word just isn’t worth that much.

Comments
  1. Micah says:

    Todd- I completely agree. I love Bobby Knight an his enthusiasm for the game as a coach. Do I condone all he did? No. However, student-athletes knew what they were signing up for when they went to Indiana and Texas Tech. It was their choice to play for him and play by his rules. Upper 90 percent graduation rate ain’t too shabby either to go with hundreds of wins.

    I stand by you and BYU’s decision to suspend. I don’t agree with Mormonism, but if you choose that institute, you better. Oh, and whatever happened to waiting until marriage???

Leave a Reply

